Posted on Jun 06, 2019
CS is State Law in Connecticut
Last night, I received a most exciting email from Norm Sondheimer, the CT CS Advocate who has been working tirelessly with so many people to channel energy toward the passage of this legislation.  We are SO HAPPY to announce that it is official; Computer Science is State Law in Connecticut!  Read on to learn about the legislation and our state level supporters...
Here is the Press Release from Ned Lamont's Office.  Also HERE is a link to the final legislation.
Favorite quote from Ned Lamont: "Nearly every time I speak with business executives, they tell me that one of the top necessities to build a successful company is the availability of a workforce that is trained in modern skills, particularly computational skills. Our state has been a leader in this area, but we can do better. It should not matter what neighborhood a child lives in, or their racial or socioeconomic status – we should be providing every student with the tools needed to obtain good paying, 21st century jobs. This legislation moves us one step forward, and I want to thank both chambers of the General Assembly, especially Education Committee co-chairs Senator McCrory and Representative Sanchez, for working with my administration so that this bill could be approved in the legislature and I can sign it into law.”
Check out this WFSB News Coverage!
Here is a list of the committee who started work on this, led by Norm Sondheimer, in August 2018: Jackie Corricelli, Jim Mersfelder, Heather Sutkowski, Chinma Uche, James Veseskis, and Kristin Violette.
Here is a list of the sponsors for the bill: 
Sen. Kevin D. Witkos, 8th Dist.                 
Rep. John K. Hampton, 16th Dist.
Rep. Cara Christine Pavalock-D'Amato, 77th Dist   
Sen. James J. Maroney, 14th Dist.
Rep. Robert Sanchez, 25th Dist.             
Rep. Caroline Simmons, 144th Dist.
Rep. Jesse MacLachlan, 35th Dist.         
Rep. Tammy R. Exum, 19th Dist.
Rep. Jason Doucette, 13th Dist.               
Rep. Bill Buckbee, 67th Dist.
Rep. Dave W. Yaccarino, 87th Dist.         
Rep. Christopher Davis, 57th Dist.
Rep. Kenneth M Gucker, 138th Dist.        
Sen. McCrory, 2nd Dist.
Sen. Berthel, 32nd Dist.
Sen. Fonfara, 1st Dist.
Sen. Daugherty Abrams,13th Dist.
Sen. Martin, 31st Dist.
Rep. Sanchez, 25th Dist.
Rep. Rojas, 9th Dist.
Rep. D'Amelio, 71st Dist.
Rep. Perillo, 113th Dist.